This Ole House (album)

Studio album by Shakin’ Stevens
Released October 1980 (Marie, Marie)
March 1981 (This Ole House)
Recorded 1980

Genre Rock and roll
Label Epic
Producer Stuart Colman

This Ole House is a 1980 album by Welsh rock and roll singer Shakin’ Stevens. The album was originally released under the name Marie, Marie but failed to chart. When “This Ole House” reached No.1 in the UK Singles Chart the album was re-issued in March 1981 with the new title and song added, peaking at No.2 in the UK Albums Chart.

The album was originally released in October 1980 on the back of his first top 20 hit “Marie, Marie”. However, his next single “This Ole House” became a much bigger hit, peaking at No.1 for three weeks in March 1981. The album was quickly re-issued with the same cover but now under the title This Ole House. It peaked at No.2, giving Stevens’ his first top ten album. It spent 28 weeks on the UK Charts and was certified Gold by the BPI. The album also contains earlier singles “Hey Mae” and “Shooting Gallery”.

“Marie, Marie” is a song by The Blasters, released on their album American Music.

“This Ole House” replaced the song “Two Hearts” (later titled “Two Hearts Two Kisses”) from the original album. The album retained most of the same musicians from the Take One! album, with the addition of Welsh guitarist (and ex-member of Stevens’ previous backing group the Sunsets) Mickey Gee.

The album was re-issued on CD for the first time in 2009 as part of The Epic Masters boxset.

Track listing

Side one

“Hey Mae” (Rusty Kershaw, Doug Kershaw) 2:32
“Baby If We Touch” (Shakin’ Stevens) 3:02
“Marie Marie” (Dave Alvin) 2:45
“Lonely Blue Boy” (Ben Weisman, Fred Wyse) 3:12
“Make It Right Tonight” (Shakin’ Stevens) 2:59
“Move” (Peter Green, C. McNabb, Jr.) 3:10

Side two

“Slippin’ and Slidin'” (Richard Penniman, Eddie Bocage, Al Collins, James Smith) 2:33
“Shooting Gallery” (Brian Hodgson, Tony Colton) 3:11
“Revenue Man” (Donny Young) 2:45
“Make Me Know You’re Mine” (Aaron Schroeder, David Hill) 4:31
“This Ole House” (Stuart Hamblen) 2:58
“Nobody” (Wayne Carson Thompson) 3:12
CD Bonus Track (2009)

“Two Hearts Two Kisses” (Jesse Stone, Otis Williams) 2:58
Shakin’ Stevens – Vocals
Albert Lee – Guitar
Mickey Gee – Rhythm Guitar
Stuart Colman – Bass
Eddie Jones – Electric Guitar
Roger McKew – Rhythm Guitar
B.J. Cole – Steel Guitar
Howard Tibble – Drums
Geraint Watkins – Piano
Sid Phillips – Baritone Saxophone
Tony Hall – Tenor Saxophone
Aldo Bocca, Rod Houison – Engineers
Freya Miller – Management
Neill King, Nick Froome – Assistants
Simon Fowler – Photography