The Very Best of Dexys Midnight Runners

Released 21 May 1991
Recorded 1979–1982; 1984–1986
Genre New Wave/Blue-eyed soul
Label Universal Music TV

The Very Best of Dexys Midnight Runners is a best of compilation album by Dexys Midnight Runners. The album contained seven Dexys hits that had also been album tracks (“Geno, “There, There My Dear”, “The Celtic Soul Brothers”, “Come On Eileen”, “Jackie Wilson Said”, “Old”, and “This Is What She’s Like”) but was more notable as the first album to contain ten of Dexys’ non-album singles, including “Let’s Get This Straight (From the Start)”, “Because Of You”,[ “Show Me”, “One Way Love”, “Breaking Down the Walls of Heartache”, “Dance Stance”, “Keep It Part Two (Inferiority Part One)”, “I’m Just Looking”, “Soon”, and “Soul Finger”), plus the original recordings of two more (“Plan B”, “Liars A to E”). “One Way Love” was the only Dexys song with Kevin Archer as the lead vocalist. The tracks covered Dexys’ entire career, shown by the fact that, although the album was released on Mercury Records, 9 of the album’s 19 songs were recorded for EMI Records, Dexys’ first label.

The album peaked at #12 in the U.K. and was certified Gold on 1 June 1991

Track listing

“Come On Eileen” (Kevin Rowland-“Big” Jim Paterson-Kevin “Billy” Adams) (from Too-Rye-Ay)
“Jackie Wilson Said (I’m in Heaven When You Smile)” (Van Morrison) (from Too-Rye-Ay)
“Let’s Get This Straight (From the Start)” (Rowland-Adams-Helen O’Hara) (non-album single)
“Because of You (The Theme from Brush Strokes)” (Rowland-Adams-O’Hara) (non-album single)
“Show Me” (Rowland-Paterson) (non-album single)
“Celtic Soul Brothers (More, Please, Thank You)” (Rowland-Paterson-Mickey Billingham) (from Too-Rye-Ay)
“Liars A to E” (Rowland-Paterson-Steve Torch) (from Too-Rye-Ay)
“One Way Love” (Bert Berns-Jerry Ragovoy) (B-side to “Keep It Part Two (Inferiority Part One)” single)*
“Old” (Rowland-Paterson) (from Too-Rye-Ay)
“Geno” (Rowland-Kevin Archer) (from Searching for the Young Soul Rebels)*
“There, There, My Dear” (Rowland-Archer) (from Searching for the Young Soul Rebels)*
“Breaking Down the Walls of Heartache” (Sandy Linzer-Denny Randell) (B-side to “Geno” single)*
“Dance Stance” (Rowland) (non-album single)*
“Plan B” (Rowland-Paterson) (non-album single)*
“Keep It Part Two (Inferiority Part One)” (Rowland-Archer) (non-album single)*
“I’m Just Looking” (Rowland-Geoff Blythe-Pete Saunders) (B-side to “Dance Stance” single)*
“Soon” (Rowland-Paterson) (B-side to “Show Me” single)*
“This Is What She’s Like” (Rowland-Adams-O’Hara) (from Don’t Stand Me Down)
“Soul Finger” (King/Jones/Alexander/Caldwell/Cunningham/Cauley) (B-Side to “Plan B” single)*
– licensed from EMI