The Long Run (Eagles album) -1979

The Long Run is the sixth studio album by the American rock group the Eagles. It was released in 1979, on Asylum in the United States and in the United Kingdom. This was the first Eagles album to feature Timothy B. Schmit, who had replaced founding member Randy Meisner. This was the band’s final studio album for Asylum Records.

When released in September 1979, The Long Run debuted at No. 2 on Billboard’s Pop Albums chart and a week later hit No. 1. It was their last No. 1 album of the 1970s, and stood for eight weeks in the No. 1 slot. The Long Run was first certified Platinum by the RIAA on February 1, 1980, and reached 7× Platinum status on March 20, 2001. It has sold more than eight million copies in the US.

The album generated three Top 10 singles, “Heartache Tonight”, the album’s title cut, and “I Can’t Tell You Why”. Those singles reached No. 1, No. 8 and No. 8 respectively. The band also won a Grammy Award for “Heartache Tonight”. Also featured on the record was “In the City”, a song first recorded by their guitarist Joe Walsh for the movie soundtrack for The Warriors.

Track listing

Side one

No. Title Writer(s) Lead vocals Length
1. “The Long Run” Don Henley, Glenn Frey Henley 3:42
2. “I Can’t Tell You Why” Timothy B. Schmit, Henley, Frey Schmit 4:56
3. “In the City” Joe Walsh, Barry De Vorzon Walsh 3:46
4. “The Disco Strangler” Don Felder, Henley, Frey Henley 2:46
5. “King of Hollywood” Henley, Frey Henley with Frey 6:27

Side two

No. Title Writer(s) Lead vocals Length
6. “Heartache Tonight” Henley, Frey, Bob Seger, J. D. Souther Frey 4:27
7. “Those Shoes” Felder, Henley, Frey Henley 4:57
8. “Teenage Jail” Henley, Frey, Souther Frey with Henley 3:44
9. “The Greeks Don’t Want No Freaks” Henley, Frey Henley 2:21
10. “The Sad Café” Henley, Frey, Walsh, Souther Henley 5:35

Album pressing

The original vinyl record pressings of The Long Run (Elektra/Asylum catalog no. 5E-508) had text engraved in the run-out groove of each side, continuing an in-joke trend the band had started with their 1975 album One of These Nights:

Side one: “Never let your monster lay down”
Side two: “From the Polack who sailed north”


Don Felder – vocals, guitars, talkbox, organ
Glenn Frey – vocals, guitars, synthesizer, keyboards
Don Henley – vocals, drums, percussion
Timothy B. Schmit – vocals, bass guitar
Joe Walsh – vocals, electric guitars, slide guitar, talkbox,synthesizer, keyboards

Additional personnel

Jimmy Buffett – backing vocals on “The Greeks Don’t Want No Freaks”
The Monstertones – backing vocals
David Sanborn – alto saxophone on “The Sad Café”
Bob Seger – backing vocals “Heartache Tonight” (not credited in liner notes)
Joe Vitale – congas on “In The City”


Producer: Bill Szymczyk, the Eagles
Engineers: Ed Mashal, Bill Szymczyk
Assistant engineers: David Crowther, Mark Curry, Phil Jamtaas, Bob Stringer, Bob Winder
Mastering and remastering: Ted Jensen
Art direction: Kosh
Design: Kosh
Photography: Jim Shea


“Heartache Tonight”/”Teenage Jail” – Asylum 46545; released September 18, 1979
“The Long Run”/”Disco Strangler” – Asylum 46569; released November 27, 1979
“I Can’t Tell You Why”/”The Greeks Don’t Want No Freaks” – Asylum 46608; released February 4, 1980