THE CALLING (Mary Chapin Carpenter album)


The Calling (Mary Chapin Carpenter album) – 2007

The Calling is the ninth studio album released from country music singer Mary Chapin Carpenter. It is the follow-up album to her 2004 album, Between Here and Gone. The Calling was released on March 6, 2007 on Zoë Records. Carpenter had previously been on Columbia Nashville, this being her first release after leaving Columbia. Like her previous album, she wrote every track on the album.

From the album, two singles were released. “On With the Song” and “It Must Have Happened”, were released, but neither of which charted on the Billboard Hot Country Songs. Although Carpenter hasn’t had a charting single since 2001s “Simple Life”, The Calling reached its peak of #10 on the Billboard Top Country Albums chart.

Track listing

All songs written by Mary Chapin Carpenter.

“The Calling” – 4:17
“We’re All Right” – 3:47
“Twilight” – 4:30
“It Must Have Happened” – 4:05
“On and on It Goes” – 4:20
“Your Life Story” – 4:20
“Houston” – 5:45
“Leaving Song” – 4:02
“On With the Song” – 3:58
“Closer and Closer Apart” – 4:31
“Here I Am” – 4:17
“Why Shouldn’t We” – 5:04
“Bright Morning Star” – 4:55


Mary Chapin Carpenter, Matt Rollings – producers
Chuck Ainlay – engineer, mixing
Scott Kidd – engineer
Bob Ludwig – mastering


Mary Chapin Carpenter – vocals, acoustic guitar
Eric Darken – percussion, vibraphone
John Jennings – dulcimer, electric guitar, baritone guitar, background vocals
Russ Kunkel – drums, percussion, cajon
Dean Parks – electric guitar, acoustic guitar, 12-string guitar
Matt Rollings – Hammond organ, piano, accordion
Glenn Worf – bass guitar