THE BODY GUARD (soundtrack)


The Bodyguard (soundtrack) – 1992

The Bodyguard: Original Soundtrack Album is the soundtrack from the film of the same name, released on November 17, 1992, by Arista Records. The album’s first side (in its original LP configuration) features songs by Whitney Houston, while side 2 features the work of numerous other artists. The album was co-executive produced by Whitney Houston and Clive Davis and has become one of the best-selling albums of all time. The soundtrack was the first album verified by the Nielsen SoundScan computerized sales monitoring system to have sold more than a million units within a one-week period. The soundtrack later went on to win the Grammy Award for Album of the Year and was certified 17× Platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America on November 1, 1999. It is the 15th best-selling album in the United States.

As of January 2012, it had sold over 45 million copies worldwide and is the best-selling soundtrack of all time.

Houston served as executive producer (as she did on her previous release I’m Your Baby Tonight), giving her full control over the song selections for this album. Houston planned to record “What Becomes of the Broken Hearted” as the film’s theme song, however, when they found out another film was going to use it, they searched for another song. Kevin Costner, the film’s co-star, thought of recording “I Will Always Love You”, originally released by Dolly Parton. While recording the album, Houston insisted on using her touring band as opposed to a studio band.

The album’s first half features pop songs performed by Houston. Houston’s cover of Dolly Parton’s plaintive country ballad “I Will Always Love You” is a grand pop-gospel declaration of lasting devotion to a departing lover. “I Have Nothing” and “Run to You” are ballads featuring Houston’s characteristic stentorian delivery. “Jesus Loves Me” is sung with Bebe Winans and features a pop arrangement.

Allmusic editor Stephen Thomas Erlewine views that the first half is characterized by urban pop songs similar to I’m Your Baby Tonight (1990), while the second half has miscellaneous tracks more “typical of a big-budget soundtrack”, including an excerpt from Alan Silvestri’s score, instrumentals by Kenny G, and contemporary pop and dance songs. “Someday (I’m Coming Back)”, performed by Lisa Stansfield, is an intense pop-disco song.

Track listing

International edition

No. Title Writer(s) Performer(s) Length

1. “I Will Always Love You” Dolly Parton Whitney Houston 4:31
2. “I Have Nothing” David Foster, Linda Thompson Whitney Houston 4:48
3. “I’m Every Woman” Nickolas Ashford, Valerie Simpson Whitney Houston 4:45
4. “Run to You” Allan Rich, Jud Friedman Whitney Houston 4:22
5. “Queen of the Night” L.A. Reid, Babyface, Daryl Simmons, Whitney Houston Whitney Houston 3:08
6. “Jesus Loves Me” Anna Bartlett Warner, William Batchelder Bradbury Whitney Houston 5:11
7. “Even If My Heart Would Break” Franne Golde, Adrian Gurvitz Kenny G and Aaron Neville 4:58
8. “Someday (I’m Coming Back)” Lisa Stansfield, Andy Morris, Ian Devaney Lisa Stansfield 4:57
9. “It’s Gonna Be a Lovely Day” Bill Withers, Skip Scarborough, Robert Clivillés, David Cole, Tommy Never, Michelle Visage The S.O.U.L. S.Y.S.T.E.M., Michelle Visage 4:47
10. “(What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love, and Understanding” Nick Lowe Curtis Stigers 4:04
11. “Waiting for You” Kenny G Kenny G 4:58
12. “Trust in Me” Charlie Midnight, Marc Swersky, Francesca Beghe Joe Cocker featuring Sass Jordan 4:12
13. “Theme from ‘The Bodyguard'” Alan Silvestri Alan Silvestri 2:40
Total length: