THE BEST OF CHIGAGO – 40th Anniversary Edition


The Best of Chicago: 40th Anniversary Edition – 2005

The Best of Chicago: 40th Anniversary is a double greatest hits album, and the thirty-first album overall, by American rock band Chicago, released by Rhino Records on October 2, 2007. It consists of two discs containing 30 of Chicago’s top 40 singles. It is the fourth compilation of past hits released by their label since beginning of the decade. Most of the songs on this compilation are presented as their shorter length radio-single edits, as opposed to the album versions. It also features “Love Will Come Back” without Rascal Flatts’ vocals.

The 39 tracks of The Very Best of Chicago: Only the Beginning (2002) holds all the tracks of 40th Anniversary except for the tracks 13-15 on disc 2.

Although no indication is given on the discs or the cover, the album could also be considered as Chicago XXXI (31) in their canon, as it is preceded by Chicago XXX (30) in 2006, and followed by Chicago XXXII: Stone of Sisyphus in 2008. This is further emphasized by the display of albums on the band’s website.

Track listing

Disc One

No. Title Writer(s) Original album Length

1. “Questions 67 & 68” (Single version) Robert Lamm The Chicago Transit Authority, 1969 3:26
2. “25 or 6 to 4” (Single version) Lamm Chicago, 1970 2:52
3. “Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?” (Promo single version) Lamm The Chicago Transit Authority 2:45
4. “Make Me Smile” (Single version) James Pankow Chicago 2:59
5. “Beginnings” (Single version) Lamm The Chicago Transit Authority 2:48
6. “Colour My World” Pankow Chicago 3:02
7. “Saturday in the Park” Lamm Chicago V, 1972 3:56
8. “Feelin’ Stronger Every Day” Pankow/Peter Cetera Chicago VI, 1973 4:14
9. “Just You ‘n’ Me” Pankow Chicago VI 3:42
10. “(I’ve Been) Searchin’ So Long” (Single version) Pankow Chicago VII, 1974 4:18
11. “Call on Me” Lee Loughnane Chicago VII 4:01
12. “Wishing You Were Here” (Single version) Cetera Chicago VII 3:00
13. “Old Days” Pankow Chicago VIII, 1975 3:30
14. “Another Rainy Day in New York City” Lamm Chicago X, 1976 3:00
15. “If You Leave Me Now” Cetera Chicago X 3:56

Disc Two

No. Title Writer(s) Original album Length

1. “Baby, What a Big Surprise” Cetera Chicago XI, 1977 3:06
2. “No Tell Lover” (Single version) Loughnane/Danny Seraphine/Cetera Hot Streets, 1978 3:50
3. “Hard to Say I’m Sorry” (Single version) Cetera/David Foster Chicago 16, 1982 3:41
4. “Love Me Tomorrow” (Single version) Cetera/Foster Chicago 16 3:58
5. “Hard Habit to Break” Cetera/Foster Chicago 17, 1984 4:45
6. “You’re the Inspiration” Cetera/Foster Chicago 17 3:48
7. “Will You Still Love Me?” (Single version) Foster/Tom Keane/Richard Baskin Chicago 18, 1986 4:13
8. “If She Would Have Been Faithful…” Steve Kipner/Randy Goodrum Chicago 18 3:51
9. “I Don’t Wanna Live Without Your Love” Albert Hammond/Diane Warren Chicago 19, 1988 3:54
10. “Look Away” (Single version) Warren Chicago 19 4:00
11. “What Kind of Man Would I Be?” (Single version) Jason Scheff, Chas Sandford, Bobby Caldwell Chicago 19 4:19
12. “You’re Not Alone” (Single version) Jim Scott Chicago 19 4:00
13. “Here in My Heart” Glen Ballard/James Newton Howard The Heart of Chicago 1967-1997, 1997 4:20
14. “Feel” (Horn section mix) Danny Orton/Blair Daly Chicago XXX, 2006 4:31
15. “Love Will Come Back” Scheff/Jay DeMarcus/Sandford Chicago XXX 3:43


Dawayne Bailey – Guitar, vocals
Peter Cetera – Bass, vocals
Bill Champlin – Guitar, keyboards, vocals, group member
Donnie Dacus – Guitar, vocals
Laudir DeOliveira – Percussion, congas, vocals
Bruce Gaitsch – Guitar
Keith Howland – Guitar, vocals, group member
Tris Imboden – Drums, group member
Terry Kath – Guitar, vocals
Robert Lamm – Keyboards, vocals, lyrics, songwriting, group member
Lee Loughnane – Trumpet, flugelhorn, vocals, lyrics, songwriting, group member
James Pankow – Trombone, vocals, lyrics, songwriting, group member
Walter Parazaider – vocals, woodwinds, lyrics, songwriting, group member
Chris Pinnick – Guitar
Jason Scheff – Bass, vocals, group member
Daniel Seraphine – Percussion, drums, vocals


Producer – Jay DeMarcus, David Foster, James William Guercio, James Newton Howard, Ron Nevison, Phil Ramone, Chas Sandford, Mike Engstrom, Cheryl Pawelski
Cover Design – Mark Rosenmeier
Design – Joshua Banker, Don Jr. Garlock, Vincent Gonzales, Jim Jamitis, Jean Krikorian, Arnaud Leger, Al Mainwaring, Craig Stevens, Ashley Underwood
Photography – Jimmy Katz
Remastering – David Donnelly
Liner Notes – Bill DeYoung
Product Manager – Mike Engstrom
Project Assistant – Scott Webber
Supervisor – Jeff Magid
Editorial Supervision – Vanessa Atkins, Sheryl Farber
Annotation – Steve Woolard