Full Name: Edward Joseph Egan

Description: Vocalist, Composer, Australian

Known For: The composer of – Two Little Boys

Instruments: Voice

Music Styles: Country

Location: Australia

Date Born: 31st October 1932

Location Born: Coburg, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Web Site:  Egan’s official website

Other Links: See below



Ted Egan AO

Edward Joseph “Ted” Egan AO (born 6 July 1932) is an Australian folk musician and a former public servant who served as Administrator of the Northern Territory from 2003 to 2007.

An Australian folk musician, and was a public servant who served as Administrator of the Northern Territory from 2003 to 2007.

Egan was born in Coburg, Melbourne, moving to the Northern Territory in 1949 at the age of 16 in search of work and adventure. In his early career with the Department of Aboriginal Affairs he was mainly in the bush and engaged in jobs such as stockwork and crocodile hunting while employed as a patrol officer and reserve superintendent. Later he was a teacher at bush schools. He was a member of the first National Reconciliation Council.

Egan was the sole teacher at the Newcastle Waters Station in 1965 and was stranded at the property for six weeks when the creek flooded. During this time no supplies were able to be delivered so Egan had to hunt for animals, such as bush turkey for food. He later returned to the station in 2012 for the book launch of Middle of Everywhere about life in the area.

Egan began recording in 1969 with “Drinkers of the Northern Territory” and has released 28 albums, mostly themed around outback life, history and Aboriginal affairs. He has been a consistent performer and tourer with his choice of instrument being an empty beer carton played by tapping with his hands and fingers. He has been a prolific writer and performer of contemporary folk songs. Many of these, such as “Gurindji Blues”, recognise Indigenous Australian heritage. He introduced Rolf Harris to the song “Two Little Boys”.




1973 Bangtail Muster
1976 The Shearers (Faces of Australia Series)
1976 The Bush Races
1982 The Overlanders (Faces of Australia Series)
1985 The Anzacs (Faces of Australia Series)
1989 The Convicts (Faces of Australia Series)
1990 Bangtail Muster
1990 The Kimberley
1990 A Town Like Alice
1980 Rodeo Australia
1988 Ted’s Shout
1997 The Aboriginals (Faces of Australia Series)
2000 The Very Best of Ted Egan My Australia
2000 The Urupunga Frog (Australian Songs for Children)
2002 The Drover’s Boy (A Celebration of Australian Women)
2003 Land Down Under
2003 Such is Life
2008 I.O.U.
2010 Saving The Best
Outback Australia
Our Coach Captain
The Vision Splendid
Beyond the black stump
Once a Jolly Swagman
Welcome to the Bush


A Schluck and a Schnitte
Sayonara Nakamura also includes song parchment
The Drover’s Boy
2008 Ted Egan Sings


Queensland Opera
Kutju Australia


2008 Due Inheritance ISBN 0-7295-0040-3
2003 The Land Downunder ISBN 0-9545726-0-2
1997 A Drop of Rough Ted ISBN 0-9595744-0-9
Justice All Their Own
1993 The Paperboys War Ted Egan An Autobiography ISBN 1-875703-08-X
1997 Sitdown Up North Ted Egan An Autobiography ISBN 1-875703-23-3
1989 Shearers Songbook ISBN 0-909104-75-1
1987 The Aboriginals Songbook -Faces of Australia Series ASIN B000N7AKU0
1978 Outback Holiday (also by Mark Egan) ISBN 0-7295-0040-3
1984 The Overlanders Songbook ISBN 0-909104-74-3
1991 Would I Lie to You? The Goanna Driver and Other Very True Stories ISBN 0-670-90460-0
2000 The Drover’s Boy ISBN 0-85091-840-5


This Land Australia series (as presenter, narrator and interviewer)
Broome and the Pearl Coast
Cape York Peninsula: The Vanishing Frontier
Central Australia: The Eighth Wonder
Discovering a Rainforest
Gulf Country: The Road from Mt. Surprise
Hahndorf and the Barossa: Valleys of Hope
The Isslands of Torres Strait
Mysterious Australia
Norfolk Island
Paddleboats of the Murray River
Railways of Yesteryear
Snowy Mountains

These are available individually and as boxed sets on DVD from Flashback Entertainment.

Administrator of the Northern Territory

Egan was appointed Administrator of the Northern Territory by Governor-General Michael Jeffery effective 31 October 2003. He was sworn in on 18 November.

On 14 September 2005, he was awarded a one year extension to his term of office by Jim Lloyd, the Federal Minister for Local Government, Territories and Roads. This was further extended for another year to serve until 30 October 2007.


Egan has presented and narrated 13 episodes of This Land Australia, a series devoted to iconic Australian people and places. He also wrote and performed the show’s theme song of the same name. He has been a co-host of the lifestyle show The Great Outdoors.


Egan was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the 1993 Australia Day Honours List for services to the Aboriginal people, and for “an ongoing contribution to the literary heritage of Australia through song and verse”. In 2004, Egan was promoted to an Officer of the Order (AO) as acknowledgement of “the significance of his continuing contribution to the community culminating in his being sworn-in as the 18th Administrator of the Northern Territory”.

Egan is listed among the “Australia’s National Living Treasures” by the National Trust of Australia.

Egan was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2014 Tamworth Country Music Festival awards ceremony.

Ted was the receiver of the National Folk Festival’s Lifetime Achievement Award on 02/04/2015 at NFF’s Opening Ceremony in Canberra. We had the pleasure of listening to Ted perform four songs; one in particular about pioneering women in Australia.