Songs in A Minor – 2001

Songs in A Minor is the debut studio album by American recording artist Alicia Keys. It was released in the United States on June 5, 2001 by J Records. After graduating from high school, Keys signed with Columbia Records to begin her music career. She recorded an album in 1998 under the label, which they rejected. Her contract subsequently ended with Columbia after a dispute with the label, and Keys later signed with Clive Davis. An accomplished, classically trained pianist, Keys wrote, arranged and produced a majority of the album, including “Jane Doe”, which was the only song in the key of A minor.

Songs in A Minor is a neo soul album with a diverse musical style that incorporates hip hop, soul, jazz and elements of gospel music.

Track listing

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Piano & I” (Samples Beethoven’s “Moonlight Sonata”) Alicia Keys, Ludwig Van Beethoven 1:52

2. “Girlfriend” (Samples Ol’ Dirty Bastard’s “Brooklyn Zoo”) Keys, Jermaine Dupri, Joshua Thompson 3:34

3. “How Come You Don’t Call Me” (Originally performed by Prince) Prince 3:57

4. “Fallin'” (Samples James Brown’s “It’s a Man’s Man’s Man’s World”) Keys 3:29

5. “Troubles” Keys, Kerry Brothers, Jr. 4:28

6. “Rock wit U” (Originally released in 2000 on the Shaft soundtrack album) Keys, Taneisha Smith, Brothers 5:36

7. “A Woman’s Worth” Keys, Erika Rose 5:02

8. “Jane Doe” Keys, Kandi Burruss 3:48

9. “Goodbye” Keys 4:20

10. “The Life” Keys, Smith, Brothers 5:25

11. “Mr. Man” (featuring Jimmy Cozier) Keys, Jimmy Cozier 4:09

12. “Never Felt This Way (Interlude)” (Originally performed by Brian McKnight) Brian McKnight 2:01

13. “Butterflyz” Keys 4:08

14. “Why Do I Feel So Sad” Keys, Warryn Campbell 4:25

15. “Caged Bird” Keys 3:02

16. “Lovin U” (hidden track) Keys 3:49