SILENCE (band)



Known For: Slovene electronic, synthpop and soundtrack music

Origin:  Ljubljana, Slovenia

Web Site:  Official Silence Homepage

Other Links: See below:



Silence is a Slovene electronic, synthpop and soundtrack music composing duo consisting of Boris Benko (singer and songwriter) and Primož Hladnik (keyboards and arrangements). Their fanbase and their tours are currently limited to Slovenia, Germany and parts of Eastern Europe. Outside the region, the band is probably mostly known for the album “Vain, A Tribute To A Ghost” and their collaboration with Laibach on the album Volk in 2006.

The music is characterized by melancholy, experimental sounds and vocal arrangements as well as meticulous production. The band is also known to incorporate various live instruments in their recordings, such as the piano, violin, viola, double bass, cello, valiha and other. The duo is recognized for their vast involvement in music writing for contemporary plays in Slovenian theater. Usually they will tour with the cast, or even be part of it, and perform the music live.

“Musicians from the End of the World” (“Glasbenika s konca sveta”), directed by Haidy Kancler and produced by RTV Slovenia, is a 30-minute film which candidly documents the lives and two-decade long career of Silence. It also follows the band on their testing journey to producing their first studio album release in 8 years. “Musical Accompaniment for the End of the World (Songs for Two Pianos, Tactful Synths and Voice)” contains the 10 songs unveiled in the documentary and is scheduled to be released on April 14, 2012 — the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the RMS Titanic.

Getting started (1992–1998)

Silence was founded in 1992 by Boris Benko, Matjaz Ferenc and Primož Hladnik. The band’s first concert was held in Ljubljana two years later. In 1995, experienced producer Peter Penko (Laibach, Coptic Rain, April Nine, Siddharta) began a collaboration with the duo. Ferenc left the band the same year. Silence made their international debut in 1996 with the song “Shut Up”, which was featured on the synthpop compilation “Daydream Collection” released on the German label “Gymnastic”. The band signed a two album contract with German label Chrom Records the same year. The Berlin independent label (located in Munich at the time of the contract signing) houses, among other artists, Deine Lakaien, Distain! and Helium Vola. Chrom Records released Silence’s debut album “Ma Non Troppo” in 1997, an album that was declared Album of the month by the influential German magazine “New Life”. The first single from the debut album was “Samuel’s Gabriel”, described by the band as “a cynical protest against the hypocrisy of the Clergy and Christianity as a political institution.” The video was shot in Munich and on the shores of Kenya in 1998. This was followed by a short German tour together with Distain!. Famous and internationally acclaimed producer Gregor Zemljič (Random Logic) produced four songs for the upcoming follow-up album to “Ma Non Troppo” before the end of the busy year.

Studio albums
1997 – Ma Non Troppo
1999 – Unlike a Virgin
2004 – Vain, A Tribute to a Ghost
2012 – “Musical Accompaniment for the End of the World (Songs for Two Pianos, Tactful Synths and Voice)” (Scheduled)

2006 – Key Silence

Original soundtracks
2003 – Maison Des Rendez-Vous
2005 – Veronika
2008 – The Passion of the Cold

2006 – Album: Volk (with Laibach)
2006 – Single: Anglia (with Laibach)
2014 – EP: 1 VIII 1944. Warszawa (with Laibach)

2000 – Son Of Sin
2005 – Skin: The Remixes (by Valentino Kanzyani and DJ Umek)
2008 – The True Nature of Happiness (Digital Release)