Rockin’ with the Rhythm –  1985

Rockin’ with the Rhythm is the second studio album released by RCA Records in 1985 by the American country music duo The Judds. It features the singles “Have Mercy,” “Grandpa (Tell Me ‘Bout the Good Old Days),” “Rockin’ with the Rhythm of the Rain” and “Cry Myself to Sleep”; all four singles reached #1 on Billboard’s Hot Country Singles & Tracks chart.

The album has been certified Platinum by the RIAA for sales of 1 million copies. It was named the Top Country Album of 1986 by Billboard, and was nominated for Favorite Country Album at the 1987 American Music Awards.

Track listing

“Have Mercy” (Paul Kennerley) – 3:23
“Grandpa (Tell Me ‘Bout the Good Ol’ Days)” (Jamie O’Hara) – 4:15
“Working in the Coal Mine” (Lee Dorsey, Allen Toussaint) – 3:04
“If I Were You” (Harlan Howard, Brent Maher, Sonny Throckmorton) – 2:51
“Rockin’ with the Rhythm of the Rain” (Maher, Don Schlitz) – 2:41
“Tears for You” (Mickey Jupp) – 3:54
“Cry Myself to Sleep” (Kennerley) – 3:44
“River Roll On” (Wayland Holyfield, Maher) – 3:52
“I Wish She Wouldn’t Treat You That Way” (Walker Igleheart, Kevin Welch) – 3:00
“Dream Chaser” (Jeffrey Hawthrone Bullock, Maher) – 3:44


The Judds

Naomi Judd – vocals
Wynonna Judd – vocals

Additional Musicians

Eddie Bayers – drums
Mark Casstevens – acoustic guitar
Sonny Garrish – dobro, pedal steel guitar
Bobby Ogdin – piano
Don Potter – acoustic guitar, electric guitar
David Schaufer – dulcimer, jew’s harp
Gene Sisk – piano
Jack Williams – bass guitar
Chart performance