F ull Name: Robert Archibald Shaw

Description: Actor, UK

Known For: The Sting – Battle of the Bulge – From Russia with Love

Location: United Kingdom

Date Born: 9th August 1927
Location Born: Lancashire, United Kingdom

Date Died: 28th August 1978
Location Died: County Mayo, Ireland
Cause Of Death: Heart failure

Memorial: He was cremated and his ashes scattered near his home in Ireland. A stone memorial to him was unveiled there in his honor in August 2008.


Website: Robert Shaw at the Internet Broadway Database

Other Links: See above:



Robert Shaw

Robert Archibald Shaw (9 August 1927 – 28 August 1978) was an English actor, novelist, and playwright. With his menacing mutter and intimidating demeanor, he was often cast as a villain. He is best remembered for his performances in Jaws (1975), in which he portrayed the shark hunter, Quint, and The Sting (1973), where he played the conned mobster, Doyle Lonnegan. Shaw also appeared in From Russia with Love (1963), Battle of the Bulge (1965), A Man for All Seasons (1966) (for which he was nominated for the 1967 Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor), The Taking of Pelham One Two Three (1974), Black Sunday (1977), Force 10 from Navarone (1978), and The Deep (1977).

An English stage and film actor and writer, remembered for his performances in The Sting, From Russia with Love, A Man for All Seasons, as Mr. Blue, the tightly wound, but coolly efficient, heist mastermind/former mercenary soldier in The Taking of Pelham One Two Three and as Quint in Jaws.

Shaw began his acting career in theatre, appearing in regional theatre throughout England. In 1952 he made his London debut on the West End at the Embassy Theatre in Caro William.

During the 1950s, Shaw starred in a British TV series which also appeared on American television as The Buccaneers.

Shaw’s best-known film performances include a turn as the dangerous enemy secret agent, Red Grant, in the second James Bond film From Russia with Love (1963); the relentless panzer officer Colonel Hessler in Battle of the Bulge (1965); a young Henry VIII in A Man for All Seasons (1966); Lord Randolph Churchill, in Young Winston (1972); the ruthless mobster Doyle Lonnegan in The Sting (1973); the tightly wound but coolly efficient heist mastermind/former mercenary soldier Bernard Ryder aka “Mr. Blue” in The Taking of Pelham One Two Three (1974); and the shark-obsessed fisherman Quint in Jaws (1975).

Shaw was married three times and had ten children, one of whom was adopted.


Shaw died of a heart attack on 28 August 1978 while driving from Castlebar to his home in Tourmakeady, Ireland. He suddenly became ill, stopped the car, stepped out and then collapsed on the roadside. He was rushed to Castlebar General Hospital and was pronounced dead at 51. He had just completed filming of Avalanche Express.

Shaw’s remains were cremated and his ashes scattered near his home in Ireland. A stone memorial to him was unveiled there in his honour in August 2008.

Personal life

Shaw was married three times and had ten children, two of whom were adopted.
His first wife was Jennifer Bourke (1952–63) with whom he had four daughters.
His second wife was actress Mary Ure (1963–75) with whom he had four children. He adopted son Colin, born in 1961, born from his wife’s previous marriage to John Osborne. His son Ian Shaw, born in 1969, also became an actor. He also had two daughters, Elizabeth and Hannah, born in 1963 and 1966, respectively. This marriage ended with her death from an overdose.
His third and last wife was Virginia Jansen (1976–78) with whom he had one son, Thomas, and adopted Jansen’s son, Charles, from a previous relationship.

For the last seven years of his life, Robert Shaw lived at Drimbawn House, in the village of Tourmakeady, County Mayo in Ireland.

Films include.

The Lavender Hill Mob (1951)
Operation Secret (1952)
The Dam Busters (1954)
A Hill in Korea (1956)
Double Cross (1956)
Man from Tangier (1957)
The Buccaneers (1957)
Sea Fury (1958)
Libel (1959)
The Winter’s Tale (1961)
The Valiant (1962)
The Caretaker (1963)
From Russia with Love (1963)
The Cracksman (1963)
The Luck of Ginger Coffey (1964)
Carol for Another Christmas (1964)
Tomorrow at Ten (1964)
Hamlet (1964)
Battle of the Bulge (1965)
A Man for All Seasons (1966)
Custer of the West (1967)
The Birthday Party (1968)
Battle of Britain (1969)
The Royal Hunt of the Sun (1969)
Figures in a Landscape (1970)
A Town Called Bastard (a.k.a. A Town Called Hell) (1971)
Young Winston (1972)
A Reflection of Fear (a.k.a. Labyrinth) (1973)
The Hireling (1973)
The Sting (1973)
The Golden Voyage of Sinbad (1974)
The Taking of Pelham One Two Three (1974)
Jaws (1975)
The Man in the Glass Booth (1975)
Der Richter und sein Henker (1975)
Diamonds (a.k.a. Diamond Shaft) (1975)
Robin and Marian (1976)
Swashbuckler (a.k.a. Scarlet Buccaneer) (1976)
Black Sunday (1977)
The Deep (1977) –
Force 10 from Navarone (1978)
Avalanche Express (1979)