Pretty Paper – 1979

Pretty Paper is a 1979 album by country singer Willie Nelson. His first Christmas album, it was also his last release of the 1970s.

The album reunited Nelson with producer/arranger Booker T. Jones, with whom he had collaborated on the acclaimed Stardust album released the year before.

The self-composed title track had been a hit Christmas song in 1963, when it was recorded by Roy Orbison. Nelson had previously recorded the song in 1964.

Track listing

“Pretty Paper” (Willie Nelson) – 3:12
“White Christmas” (Irving Berlin) – 2:28
“Winter Wonderland” (Felix Bernard; Richard B. Smith) – 2:45
“Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” (Johnny Marks) – 2:26
“Jingle Bells” (James Pierpont) – 2:12
“Here Comes Santa Claus” (Gene Autry; Oakley Haldeman) – 2:11
“Blue Christmas” (Billy Hayes; Jay Johnson) – 1:53
“Santa Claus Is Coming to Town” (J. Fred Coots; Haven Gillespie) – 2:40
“Frosty the Snowman” (Steve Nelson; Jack Rollins) – 2:13
“Silent Night” (Joseph Mohr; Franz Xavier Gruber) – 2:27
“Little Town of Bethlehem” (Phillips Brooks; Lewis H. Redner) – 3:46
“Christmas Blues (Instrumental)” (Willie Nelson; Booker T. Jones) – 1:27


Willie Nelson – Vocals, guitar
Paul English – Drums
Chris Ethridge – Bass
Bradley Hartman – Engineer
Booker T. Jones – Arranger, Keyboards
Rex Ludwick – Drums
Jody Payne – Guitar
Mickey Raphael – Harmonica
Bee Spears – Bass