NIGHT OWL (album)

Night Owl (album)

Released June 1979
Recorded 1978–1979; Chipping Norton Recording Studios,
Lansdowne Recording Studios

Genre Folk rock
Length 54:42

Night Owl is a 1979 album by Gerry Rafferty. It was released a year after Rafferty’s Platinum-selling album City to City. While not quite performing as well as its predecessor, Night Owl still managed enough sales to achieve Gold status in North America and the United Kingdom. The title song reached No. 5 on the UK charts. The album made the UK Top 10.

The album was recorded at Chipping Norton Recording Studios, Chipping Norton, England.


On 30 January 2007 Collectables Records released Night Owl and City To City as a two-disc set.

Track listing

All tracks written by Gerry Rafferty.

No. Title Length

1. “Days Gone Down (Still Got the Light in Your Eyes)” 6:31
2. “Night Owl” 6:11
3. “The Way That You Do It” 5:08
4. “Why Won’t You Talk To Me?” 3:59
5. “Get It Right Next Time” 4:40
6. “Take the Money and Run” 5:48
7. “Family Tree” 5:55
8. “Already Gone” 4:54
9. “The Tourist” 4:14
10. “It’s Gonna Be a Long Night” 4:22


Gerry Rafferty – vocals, acoustic guitar, polymoog 2, piano 9
John Kirkpatrick – accordion
Richard Thompson – guitar, mandolin
Barbara Dickson – background vocals
Richard Harvey – organ, synthesiser, recorder, penny whistle
Richard Brunton – guitar
Hugh Burns – guitar
Betsy Cook – background vocals
Tommy Eyre – synthesiser, piano
Liam Genockey – drums
Graham Preskett – violin, fiddle, mandolin, piano
Raphael Ravenscroft – saxophone, lyricon
Frank Ricotti – percussion
Linda Thompson – background vocals
Pete Wingfield – organ
Gary Taylor – bass, vocals
Patrick (John Byrne) – Front cover painting