MILLENNIUM (Backstreet Boys album)


Millennium (Backstreet Boys album) – 1999

Millennium is the second U.S. worldwide album (third album internationally) by the American boy band the Backstreet Boys. It was a highly anticipated follow-up to both their U.S. debut album, and their second internationally released album. It was their first album to be released in both the U.S. and internationally in the same form, at the same time.

In the United States, it holds the record for most shipments in one year, with 11 million in 1999. It was nominated for five Grammy Awards and spawned four Top 40 singles, including the single “I Want It That Way”. Three of the singles, “I Want It That Way”, “Larger than Life” and “Show Me the Meaning of Being Lonely”, became some of their most successful and remembered hits of all time, with “I Want It That Way” becoming their biggest hit to date. Millennium has since become one of the best-selling albums of all time, selling over 40 million copies worldwide.


Four singles were released from the album.

“I Want It That Way” is the lead single from the album. It was released on April 12, 1999. It is one of the Backstreet Boys’ most commercially successful songs and is often regarded as the group’s signature song.
“Larger than Life” is the second single from the album. It was released on September 3, 1999.
“Show Me the Meaning of Being Lonely” was released as the third single. It was released on December 21, 1999. It peaked at #6 on the Billboard Hot 100.
“The One” is the fourth and final single from the album. It was released on May 16, 2000.


Credits for Millennium adapted from AllMusic.

Hans Åkeson – viola
Timmy Allen – producer
Tomas Andersson – violin
Adam Barber – engineer, vocal engineer
Joe Bates – engineer
Tim Berkebile – drums, musical director
Torbjörn Bernhardsson – viola
Adam Blackburn – engineer
Daniel Boom – engineer
Randy Bowland – guitar, guitar (acoustic)
Nick Carter – arranger, vocals
Billy Chapin – guitar
Tom Coyne – mastering
Asa Forsberg – cello
Ulf Forsberg – viola
Andrew Fromm – piano
Dennis Gallo – guitar, keyboards
Nick Gamma – art direction, design
Stephen George – engineer
Ben Glynne – programming
Mattias Gustafsson – bass, guitar, keyboards, producer, programming
Mick Guzauski – mixing
Paul Howards – keyboards, percussion, saxophone
Charles Infante – set design
Henrik Janson – arranger, conductor
Uli Janson – arranger, conductor
Bashiri Johnson – percussion
Devon Kirkpatrick – assistant engineer
Robert John “Mutt” Lange – producer
Tomas Lindberg – bass
Steve Lipson – producer, programming
Brian Littrell – conductor, vocal arrangement, vocals
Kristian Lundin – engineer, mixing, producer
Max Martin – mixing, producer
Svein H. Martinsen – viola
Dominic Miller – guitar
Chieli Minucci – guitar (acoustic), guitar (electric)
Heff Moraes – engineer, mixing
Jackie Murphy – art direction, design
Edwin Nicholas – bass, keyboards, producer, programming
Esbjörn Öhrwall – guitar
Samuli Ornstromer – cello,
Doug Petty – piano
Rami – mixing,
Elisabeth Arnberg Ranmo – viola
Dawn Reinholtz – assistant engineer
Kevin Richardson – arranger, bass, keyboards, vocals
Carl Robinson – engineer
Olle Romo – keyboards, programming
Tom Smith – keyboards, piano
George Spatta – engineer
Chris Trevett – engineer, mixing
Peter-John Vettese – keyboards, programming
Louie Vigilante – bass
Georg “Jojje” Wadenius – guitar
Eric Foster White – bass, conductor, engineer, guitar (electric), keyboards, producer
Christian “Wicked” Wicht – engineer
Dan Wojeciechowski – drums

Track listing

No. Title Writer(s) Producer(s) Length

1. “Larger than Life” Max Martin, Kristian Lundin, Brian Littrell Lundin 3:52
2. “I Want It That Way” Martin, Andreas Carlsson Martin, Lundin 3:33
3. “Show Me the Meaning of Being Lonely” Martin, Herbert Crichlow Martin, Lundin 3:54
4. “It’s Gotta Be You” Martin, Robert John “Mutt” Lange Martin, Lange, Rami Yacoub 2:57
5. “I Need You Tonight” Andrew Fromm Lange 4:23
6. “Don’t Want You Back” Martin Martin, Yacoub 3:26
7. “Don’t Wanna Lose You Now” Martin Martin, Yacoub 3:55
8. “The One” Martin, Littrell Martin, Lundin 3:46
9. “Back to Your Heart” Kevin Richardson, Gary Baker, Jason Blume Stephen Lipson, Timmy Allen[a] 4:21
10. “Spanish Eyes” Andrew Fromm, Sandy Linzer Allen, Mattias Gustafsson 3:55
11. “No One Else Comes Close” Joe Thomas, Baker, Wayne Perry Allen, Edwin “Tony” Nicholas 3:43
12. “The Perfect Fan” Littrell, Thomas Smith Eric Foster White 4:15

Bonus tracks (Australia / Japan / Singapore / China)